Philip O'Connor helped Kerry to victory over Cork in the Munster JFC Final.
Philip O'Connor helped Kerry to victory over Cork in the Munster JFC Final. 

Kerry crowned Munster JFC champions again

Munster Junior Football Final

KERRY 1-14 CORK 0-13

By Denis Hurley at Páirc Ui Rinn

A dominant second-half display delivered a sixth straight Munster JFC title for Kerry as they saw off Cork at Páirc Uí Rinn on Wednesday night.

Trailing by a point, 0-9 to 1-5, at half-time, the visitors scored the first seven points of the second half to put themselves firmly in control as Cork failed to build on what had been a promising first half.

With Garry Murphy, Fintan O’Connor and Anthony O’Connor on song, Cork made the most of the wind at their backs, Cork impressed in the first half and amassed an 0-8 to 0-4 lead by the 25th minute.

However, Kerry came roaring back into the game as Chris Farley set up Stephen O’Sullivan for a wonderful individual goal, Michael Foley following that with an equaliser.

Indeed, the Kingdom might have scored a second goal straight after that, Chris Kelly having to save well from Brandon Barrett. Eoin O’Shea put Cork ahead again injury time, but it was the last time they led.

A pair of O’Sullivan points had Kerry in front within six minutes of the restart and Daniel Daly, Jack Brosnan and Barry O’Dywer eased them clear.

Gary Murphy did end Cork’s drought in the 54th minute, but Kerry had put themselves in a secure position by then and had four points to spare by the end.

Kerry now advance to face the UK champions in the All-Ireland semi-final.

Scorers for Kerry: Stephen O’Sullivan 1-3, Daniel Daly 0-4 (0-3 frees), Barry O’Dwyer 0-3, Jack Brosnan, Eoin O’Brien (45), Caolim Teahan, Michael Foley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cork: Gary Murphy (0-2 frees), Anthony O’Connor (0-2 frees, 0-1 45) 0-4 each, Séamus Hickey, Fintan O’Connor 0-2 each, Eoin O’Shea 0-1.

KERRY: Eoghan O’Brien; Cian Ó Murchú, Pádraig O’Connor, Pádraig ‘Jackie’ O’Sullivan; Jack Brosnan, Mike Breen, Michael Foley; John Mark Foley, Nathan Breen; Philip O’Connor, Chris Farley, Brandon Barrett; Stephen O’Sullivan, Daniel Daly, Barry O’Dwyer. Subs: Caolim Teahan for Nathan Breen (5, black card), Tomás Lynch for Barrett (53), James Crean for Farley (58), John Spillane for O’Dwyer (60).

CORK: Chris Kelly; Pádraig Clancy, Peter Murphy, Gavin McCarthy; Kevin Cremin, John Mullins, Ger O’Callaghan; Brian ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan, Paul Walsh; Fintan O’Connor, Anthony O’Connor, Shane Aherne; Gary Murphy, Séamus Hickey, Eoin O’Shea. Subs: Liam Wall for O’Callaghan (23, injured), Seán ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan for Aherne, Tadhg Corkery for Brian ‘Terry’ O’Sullivan (both 42), Eamonn O’Callaghan for Walsh (49), Eddie Goggin for O’Shea (55), Gerry Kelleher for Fintan O’Connor (59).

Referee: Donncha O’Callaghan (Limerick)